Changes in Time and Attitude

• 80 posts
    February 20, 2012 1:03 AM PST
    I got my first HD XLCH during the early 70's.  It wasn't considered to be a "Chicks" bike in those days.  Few women had their own bikes anyway.  Bikers were still not considered to be socially acceptable either.  No one would even speak to a person who trailered a operable bike to an event.  We rode with bedrolls on the bars and bare bones rigging.  Later I moved up to a Panhead and rode that bike for many a year and overhaul.  Attitudes remained the same throughout, but socially acceptable people were starting to buy motorcycles.  I started riding a shovelhead and made a road trip from San Diego to Daytona and back.  I wouldn't even consider a trailer for a road trip although by then I no longer thought much about others trailering to an event.  In 2005 I bought a Heritage Softail.  I now have a wife younger than I am that rides her own bike.  We have done our traveling on the bikes and camped with a small mountain tent.  My body began to feel the cold more and ache more after a night on the ground.  My wife suggested a trailer and I declined.  This last year I did buy a trailer for long distance travel.  Funny how time and age changes attitudes.  When a rider makes comments about a trailer now, I just smile -- Been there Done that.
    • 1855 posts
    February 20, 2012 1:22 AM PST
    So True..................The big thing with me is that "I don't WANT to trailer" and I fight the idea. Yet, I do have a trailer and I did buy it specifically to haul the bike because, inspite of what we want to believe, the body does feel the aches and the pains and the cold. I've had the trailer for a number of years but I've only hauled my bike a couple of times. And that was because I had to get another bike south so a friend of mine in Arkansas could do some work on it while the OL and I rode on to Key West.